• Sun 03 Mar 12:00AM

Sorry, you missed this one

Bar opens 5pm
Box office opens 6pm
Cinema doors open 7pm
Film starts 8pm

DJs til late

Film only and
Film+Banh Mi bundle tix avail (veg option avail)

Pre-sales close 4pm. Door-sales open 6pm until sold out.


36 Manchester Lane, Melbourne
view map

Valtari Film Experiment

Country • Various

Year • 2012

Duration • 126min

Rating • M

Sigur Rós chose 16 directors to respond to their music. They got bruises, candy, goldfish, Elle Fanning and John Hawkes.

In 2012 Sigur Rós gave 14 film makers the same modest budget and asked them to create whatever came into their head when they listened to songs from the band’s latest album Valtari. The idea was to bypass the usual artistic approval process and allow people utmost creative freedom.

Among the filmmakers the band reached out to were Alma Har’el, whose feature Bombay Beach also screens in the Moonshine Cinema program; John Cameron Mitchell (Hedwig & The Angry Inch, Shortbus), acclaimed photographer Ryan McGinley and Ramin Bahrani, described by US critical doyen Roger Ebert as “the director of the decade”.

The band then invited fans to contribute their own personal creations – and received over 834 submissions from fans around the world. Two were chosen.

Taking full advantage of the incredible sound system at Shebeen (formerly the site of the jazz club Manchester Lane), MOONSHINE CINEMA will show a selection of the 16 films that resulted from the project. This will be the premiere screening of Valtari Film Experiment in Australia.

Shebeen is a non-profit bar that sources beer and wine from the developing world. The profit from each drink sold goes back to an aid project in that drink’s country of origin. Moonshine Cinema is a program of films that celebrate Shebeen’s launch. A place where moonshiners can gather for good times and goodwill hooch.

Directors involved in Valtari Film Experiment include:

Nick Abrahams – Filmmaker behind the super 8 film that came with Sigur Rós’s Með suð í eyrum við spilum endalaust album .

Arni & Kinski – 
Icelandic directors of the Sigur Rós videos ‘Vidrar vel til loftárása’, Glósóli, ‘Hoppípolla’ and

Ramin Bahrani – 
Roger Ebert’s “director of the decade”. Chop Shop, Plastic Bag. Currently in post on 
new feature At Any Price.

Melika Bass – 
Chicago-based 16mm filmmaker, creator of atmospheric, gothic narratives.

Inga Birgissdottir
 – Cover artist for ‘Valtari’, Jonsi’s ‘Go’ and creators of ‘Ekki múkk ‘ animation.

Björn Flóki – Iceland-born, US-based photographer and filmmaker.

Alma Har’el
 – Acclaimed music video director and the feature documentary Bombay Beach which won ‘Best World Documentary’ at 2011 Tribeca Film Festival.

Ragnar Kjartansson
 – Icelandic performance/music/visual artist. Represented Iceland at 2009 Venice

Clare Langan
 – Irish film artist, whose work has exhibited at galleries including MOMA 
and Tate Liverpool.

Christian Larson
 – Swedish director Christian Larson grew up drumming, dancing & filming skateboarding, which helped carve his reputation for a rhythmic visual style. His work includes music videos for kylie Minogue and editorials for Wallpaper Magazine, Absolut Vodka and Roche Bobois.

Henry Jun Wah Lee – 
Time-lapse film-maker.

Ryan McGinley – 
Photographer and film-maker. Youngest artist to have a solo show at the Whitney Museum. Shot images used on the cover of Sigur Ros’s last album Með suð í eyrum við spilum endalaust.

John Cameron Mitchell & Dash Shaw – The director of Hedwig & the Angry Inch, Shortbus and Rabbit Hole collaborated with the graphic novelist 

behind Body World, Bottomless Bellybutton and Garden Head.

Floria Sigismondi  – Sigismondi has directed music videos for David Bowie, Björk, The Cure, White Stripes, Katy Perry, Pink, Marilyn Manson, Fiona Apple, Leonard Cohen and Sigur Rós. She also directed The Runaways, starring Kristen Stewart and Dakota Fanning.

London-based Anafelle Liu, was the overall fan competition winner, and the Minsk-based Ruslan Fedotow, was the people’s choice fan comp winner.